When user accounts associated with a subscription's fax numbers are deleted by an administrator, the assigned username (usually prefixed mbx followed by 8 digits e.g. mbx63791234) is also deleted and any user or application that was relying on that user account to receive faxes will be unable to use FaxMaker Online to send or receive faxes.
This article provides important information for customers on what they can do to restore services when user accounts are deleted, whether intentionally or accidentally.
GFI FaxMaker Online does not provide the capability to restore a deleted account because once deleted, the account and associated configurations are removed from the portal and the deleted users are subsequently unable to send and receive faxes. Any third-party system that was relying on the same account to receive faxes through Inbound Web Services (IWS) will also stop receiving faxes.
Follow these steps to restore lost functionality due to user account deletion:
- Recreate the deleted account afresh by following the steps outlined in Adding users one-by-one.
- Reassign your fax number(s) to the new user by following the procedure described in Assigning Numbers to Users in FaxMaker Online.
- If the account was configured for IWS, update the 3rd-party systems with the new credentials
Confirm that the recreated user is now able to send and receive faxes successfully. If the user account is configured for use by third-party systems through IWS, confirm that users can now receive faxes through the third party systems.